“Misery”: A Good Lesson for Writers

Self-Published Authors Helping Other Authors

I’m going to admit that though I’d seen parts of the movie “Misery” and knew what happened in it, I never sat down and watched the entire thing until a week ago.  I’ve since watched it three times.  Stephen King really is a master of suspense.  He makes you wonder what will happen next.  But since Stephen King wrote the book that inspired the movie and since he’s a popular author, I imagine he might have felt some of the author’s angst while he wrote the book.  As an author, I can relate, and I think other authors can relate to this stuff, too.  Here’s what I mean…

1.  “I’m your number 1 fan.”

At first in the movie, this seems like such a sweet sentiment.  The smiling and seemingly helpless woman who rescues the author comes off as the ideal person to nurse him back to health.  Except, she’s…

View original post 622 more words

Leave a Reply

